Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-03-30

We had joy, we had fun, we had weekends full of sun

This was quite the weekend. One party after the other in a whirlwind of laughter and fermented beverages of every distinction. The weather ended up cooperating by being lovely and almost too hot.

Friday evening was dinner with the sister. Gifts exchanged, parents civil. We were a touch worried and had all kinds of neutral topics ready should they be needed. But everyone had a good time. My father, in a rare bout of garrulousness told us a Vietnam story. It was out of character for him to share and we were all appreciative.

Saturday was the beach shindig. Imagine Ocean Beach alive with investment bankers and other white collard people in Tommy Bahama sipping frozen drinks and eating Hawaiian hours de�ourves I was afraid that, during the bonfire there would be a Lord of the Flies moment and so I stayed away from the unpopular fat guy in glasses, just to be safe. Neither of the parents attended. I myself almost didn�t. Saturday morning was spent doing some charitable work for some handicapped people that live near my church. I forget really how I got roped into this, but I did. It made me look good though. I was mowing a lawn, mainly to get everyone off my back for suggesting that we stop by the Home Depot for some migrant labor and the BevMo for some mixers and make a party out of it all. My flip attitude wasn�t appreciated and the grass made my allergies act up so I took some Benedryl and was a bit out of it for a while. I did perk up later in the day and was glad I went.

Sunday brunch with the Grandparents went actually much better than expected. Sister wouldn�t tell me the amount of the check she received in lieu of a actual gift so I�m thinking it was damn good. I hope so. My birthday is next month and I need summer clothes.

This evening I dropped my dad off at the airport, the traffic was crazy and they were checking all the SUV�s it seemed. We got waved through and after giving him an awkward curbside hug and promises to keep better in touch we parted ways. Some unconscious Saturn driver managed to hit the crossing guard as I was pulling away, which I found amusing. My phone then rang; it was my father asking me if I had done it. I assured him that I was well behind the lines. It was our most real talk of the entire weekend. My mother stays until Tuesday as Sister has a fibroid cyst that is being removed from her breast. The interesting thing about this is that I had the same thing done 3 years ago. I was reassuring her about the whole ordeal this morning, which got her Husband laughing, as it�s not everyday that brothers reassure their sisters about breast lumps. Or even can feel comfortable discussing it. Seeking a companion in recovery she is having Dogs dewclaws removed. I will be sure to investigate any nieces or nephews for Munchausen Syndrome.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile