Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-02-19

Next time, I'll write

I am exhausted. My mother is visiting, and I spent the weekend sleeping fitfully at my sister�s house. I shared an air mattress with their dog. The dog and I actually bonded over the experience. As did my brother in law and I. We would go out on the pretense of taking the dog for a walk in order to sneak a cigarette. I don�t smoke and he�s not allowed to, not that it stopped either one of us. The dog, like all best friends, kept our little secret. It was all very daring of us, although him more than me. My sister finds me a bad influence and also a threat. It�s very subtle, but I really think she resents not being an only child. She got her revenge by having the �perfect life�. I feel sorry for her children.

My mother looks 40 in the morning and 30 after an hour of careful preparation. She likes it when people express disbelief that my sister and I ever could have sprung forth from her petite loins. She is a force to be reckoned with, my mother. Slow to get started she develops an infectious inertia that pulls one along at the breakneck speed in which she leads her life. She had an agenda, and we would follow it. It nearly killed my sister, poor thing. She�s used to being in charge.

Monday we went and had lunch at the Cheesecake Factory. We had gone downtown to visit the Britek Fabric sale as my sister was having a couch recovered and needed to pick out something. But the line was incredibly long, and none of us had the patience to deal with it. So we went to lunch. During our 45 � 60 minute wait we walked through the furniture department at Macy�s one floor down and my sister ended up purchasing a couch instead, just in time for the badge to start flashing and buzzing. It�s a very nice couch, yellow and bright. Slip covered so she can change it on whim, like all good furniture. It was on sale. They are delivering it this Thursday. Which is already tomorrow. Damn, but time has a strange way of getting away from me. I was so tired after the weekend, and my mother arrives in my neck of the Bay Area tomorrow. I don�t think she was satisfied with the invasive questioning. I should prepare the roommate for the expected debriefing. She had originally planned on cooking dinner, but we are going out instead. She has decided, after my sisters house on Sunday, that our kitchen can�t be up to the standard, and no doubt we have none of the pans and things necessary. I�m a bit relieved. Not that her cooking was bad, in fact, it was a really delicious meal. I just don�t think she�d approve. Although the roommate and I did an extra bit of clean over it. I even did dishes.

Tuesday was a bit of a blur. Just boring work. I am certain now that Plane has a boyfriend. Or a suitor. I imagine she is the more old fashioned type. A virgin except for the one and only time she got high on pot in college and made out with a friend. She just reeks of bad college Lesbian experience. Anyway, she�s doing her hair differently and seems to be taken more care in her appearance. Maybe someone in her life gave her an intervention or something. I�ve actually complimented her on the change. Not the actually change, because that is just rude, but what she wore. Bimberly and I were discussing it today and she�s going to try and get the gossip. I think that I�d be subtler, but there is the whole sisterhood thing. Today was wrapped up in meetings. Our company has a new product that everyone is all wrapped up in. Emotions are high and tempers are wont to flare. It is hoped that it will raise numbers enough to boost end of quarter. I hope that it raises the numbers enough that I get to go to the trade show in Vegas this year. That�s a win/win I think everyone can live with.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile