Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2005-03-28

Hamming it up

I am very close to going into a pork coma. And also very close to getting into hell as this morning the communion wine was very tasty. I actually thought to myself, hrm, I should talk to the Bishop because this would go really good with everything. And then I caught myself on the way out and merely said, Happy Easter. Then, there was the Easter Supper, with the ham. Oh the ham. So very delicious. I have a Ziploc container full of it sitting in my fridge right now. I�m thinking omelet in the morning, sandwich for lunch, and frittata for dinner.

I must be short some vital nutrient found only in pig, as I�m not usually all about the Easter Ham.

Aside from the communion wine, church this morning was uneventful. If it hadn�t been Easter then I most likely would not have gone. However, it was a big family affair, with Sister and Husband picking me up and the three of us carpooling over to meet with the Greatest Generation and the rest of the family. It was very, very, early as out family traditionally does coffee hour after the sunrise service, and also provides the cash egg for the Easter Egg hunt. For this dubious honor we also get the hide the eggs, but really, it�s not much of a trade off. However, all had a good time and I managed to not make a mess of myself. It took me forever to pick out something to wear, and I eventually eschewed traditional Easter pastels for a pale blue shirt and pinstriped trousers (both Perry Ellis Portfolio) instead of anything seasonal. Black accoutrement and (of course) a pair of Kenneth Cole completed my ensemble. Yes, it was more �Let�s get ready for banking!� instead of �Let�s meet the freshly risen son of God!� but I was still the best dressed there. The actual hunting of the eggs went rather successfully and if I closed my eyes and though hard enough the shrieks of delight and joy receded into the background and became easy to ignore. For whatever reason they did not put on a precocious religiously themed play this year as well, and while the parents might have been disappointed, I was not. Inevitably at such things I�m reminded of a rather uncomfortable summer turn as a giant singing Psalm Book and of course the geriatric members of that congregation do everything they can to make sure that I will never be able to forget it.

Also, I don�t care how old you are, how many wars you served in, and what you�ve contributed to society. Easter is never the time for a novelty tie. NEVER.

Then to brunch at the Greatest Generation�s, where I ate the large quantities of ham and discussed weighty matters like the current Health Care crisis and the Terry however you spell her last name thing. And hid more eggs, and ate more pork and in the end nearly threw up at the Particle Accelerator on my way back home. Which would not have gone over well, I�m sure. Sister won�t even let Dog into her Toureg and I�d hate to think what would have happened if I�d christened the backseat. But, some water and a redirected vent saved me from having my ham rise today. Though it might have been interesting to have actually thrown up onto the particle accelerator, at the perfect moment in some experiment which then caused a break through in string theory or something (another topic discussed over mimosas that really I couldn�t care less about but had to pretend to be polite) which would make it possible for wormholes or something. Which means we can send out convicts to the moon to carve out luxury condominiums so that the old people can retire somewhere else other than Florida.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile