Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2004-03-09

Sunshine, Lollypops, and Rainbows

I arrived at work this morning and it was almost 70 degrees. There were no clouds to impact the onslaught of UV rays. This should be an excuse in California. Like the snow days of the rest of the country, or the tornado days, or massive flooding day. Whatever weather related days, when it's this hot in San Francisco we should get out of work free. I took it as so. Leaving a voicemail for my boss that I was too sick to continue, I fled my windowless work coffin at 8:30, free to roam. I drove up to Sister's neighborhood to ditch my car, and left her a message as to my plans for the day. I walked down Haight to have breakfast and coffee at the People's Cafe. I felt a little too yuppy for the crowd but got over it. At 10 I fell into the Gap, replacing my Hugo Boss slacks, Kenneth Cole stretch Polo, and Banana Republic cashmere sweatervest for some khaki cargo shorts and a blue Gap body t-shirt. I had to wear my oxfords for the walk back, doing so sans sock, and thus felt a little silly. But I had a pair of Van's in the car so all was eventually to be well. I then broke into Sister's condo and liberated her scooter and also a pair of Reefs from Husband's closet and motored over to the beach. I had a million plans, write some, get clear on my future, read my book, build a sand castle, but once there, nothing could match the beauty and magesty of the oceans and the kite surfers and I just drank it all in until the tinge of impending sunburn told me it was time to leave. My cell phone rang, and I ended up meeting Sister downtown for lunch. We ate at the Nordstrom's cafe where over salads and iced tea we marveled over the weather and made plans for the weekend. We walked through Nordstrom's on the way out but nothing caught our fancy and so we said good-bye at Powell, her back to work, and I back to return the scooter and walk Dog (my penance for the scooter napping) It was too hot to hike up Buena Vista so I took him to Duboce where I lazily tossed the ball for him from the shade of a tree. I almost took a nap, but responsibility prevented me from really drifting off, so I returned Dog to the condo and drove home ahead of the rush hour traffic. It was days like today that make it easy to be content.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile