Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-11-17

Shiny happy thoughts

My gym is closed this week. Excuse me, club. It's a club. I have to keep remembering that. The members would no doubt string me up if I called it a "gym" in front of them.

They are very protective of thier club. Also, if one is a member, it's important to mentione it within seconds of any conversation.

Anyway, it's closed. So I this morning for my constitutional I went to the one down the street that is all tennis courts and swimming pools. Thier lockers are not as nice as ours. Ours are brand new. They don't have a reception/lounge area. There is no Pro Shop or Yoga Studio. A small coffee service and a beverage cooler are the only refreshments available. And yet, I loved it. The place was all about sport. Basic, simple, pure. Get in, swim your laps, play your tennis, then go home. It was beautiful. I may swap. The pool is much nicer than our own, and while they don't have a squash courts and the cafe at my club is larger than the fitness area, there's a nice feel about it all. .

Last weekend Sister and I participated in a holiday tradition. We went and had lunch at the Mall to watch all the young gay boys search for employment. We normally like to do it the day after Halloween, but Sister was in London for two weeks, delaying it. I don't know if it's a San Francisco thing exclusivly or not but it's so entertaining to watch all these young things rushing from Club Monoca to JCrew trying to gain seasonal employ. There are new ones every year. Perhaps they are bussed in from parts unkown. Or there is something in the mall that calls them forth, to give us all a set of queer eyes this holiday season, to mix and match the different sweaters with scarfs at the gap. To find the perfect fit of pant at Express, to talk us into the retro print smock at American Eagle. This year the employment stage was over and we sat in the lobby of the San Francisco Shopping center eating our take out Panda Express and enjoying the view of training in Club Monoco, Abercrombie, and Kenneth Cole. The confused expressions when faced with a register, the bitter old employees rolling thier eyes at thier fresh faced compradres who still activly cared about upselling the socks. It was a lovely thing. We then escaped to Starbucks where, over EggNog latte's we planned out our holiday purchases and bonded as only siblings who are also good friends can. We parted ways at the door, a half hug with European peck on the cheek, both of us going back to our lives with a warm glow that was part corporate coffee, part love.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile