Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-08-19

The '70s, Liz Phair, pony bashing.

I am becoming vain about my hair. I didn�t think when I started growing it out that I would grow so attached to these golden locks. I interrupt this narcissistic musing to bring you a special bulletin in faux Haiku format:

There is a woman who should control her children sitting by me.

4 children. All with separate baby daddies.

Or so she�s telling the woman next to her.

And she just got taken in by a pyramid scheme. Selling pre-paid legal services.

Although who knows who is actually being taken by whom.

I wonder what it's about.

Oh dear, she works with pregnant black women.

Well, those that can't, teach.

And they are gone. I�ll now return to you to the entry, already in progress:

�but then everyone always said blondes have more fun.

I think that I missed something by being between the seventies and the eighties. Being born near the middle of the decade, it seems that I am between both worlds, the liberalism of the Age of Aquarius and the Me Decade that followed. Of course, then came the Gay Nineties and we are still in those. I have been watching VH1 on the monitors at my health club (not a gym, oh no, I�ve left 24Hr behind me and now work out at an actual club. Because it says so in the title) and while I am a fan of that new Beyonc� song I much rather find out what I was missing . Except for the Soul Train line and All in the Family. I do miss Beta though. Mainly because Sister and I coulh always count on that stubby little tape being there on the wooden shelf at Captain Video. Sure there was always the argument about what to rent, usually Tron or Flashdance. Oh the times she jumped around the living room singing �What a Feeling� with her hairbrush in that off key child�s voice. We rarely disagreed on things as children. Although I hated Rainbow Bright. The Care Bears made me nauseous. The Little Ponies, wellI kept hoping the knockers would show up, and instead of a lesson in sharing or accepting those that are different than we are, we�d learn all about where glue and pet food comes from. But I digressed. As usual. I do like the new VH1 though. They've gone less E! True Hollywood Story and more stylish magazine. It doesn�t matter what happened behind the music anymore, no, it�s all about the fabulous life of those people. And they are showing Liz Phair in heavy rotation. And for that, I will watch.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile