Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-06-01

I just got the computer set up

I have been moving. Moving is fun. When you have other people do it.

I didn�t have other people.

But I did get Friday off from work to do it all. So, there was respite from the ugliness that is my week. My boss was fairly nice about it all. I explained I would be moving. Could I have some time? He gave me the day. Told me to jot it down as sick time. I thanked him. Left his office. By the time I got back to my desk there was an announcement alerting everyone to the fact that I was moving. That I wouldn�t be in on Friday. I read it, a bit uncomprehending. And there was my boss, grinning at me behind his filthy glasses, his bad combover glistening somehow in the fluorescent lights. Was he expecting praise? Did he want a hug? It was so strange. I soothed his simple ego and told him to go pet the rabbits. I did get some boxes out of the deal though. The Troll went around and emptied all the paper and supply boxes. There were even offers to help. Mentions of trucks or SUV�s. I thanked everyone and declined. They are ugly. But nice. If only they were mean. Then I could be the tragic princess, stuck in the land of the ugly, forced to toil away�.

Or not. Moving on.

I have come to several conclusions during the move.

I have way too much stuff. Stuff I didn�t know that I had. This means that I should just get rid of it. Because I�ll never miss it. But I didn�t do that. I went through the stuff that I shoved into Storage. And so I ended up keeping it.

I have enough satchels to start my own bike messenger service. I have enough clothes to outfit Mayberry. I own too many movies, books, CD�s and other media. I have more entertaining dishware than a bar.

I ended up buying more boxes. And throwing everything into them. They are now stacked in the rafters of my Grandparents Garage, with the exception of my furniture which resides at a Storage Locker rented just for that very purpose. I had tossed all my clothes on the bed in my new room. Carmen was concerned that it was all laundry. This was told to me over dinner. I learned ALL about Carmen. Her divorce. Her mentally handicapped son. The time she brought her boyfriend over, scaring my Grandmother. All I care about is that my whites have never been brighter and my Dry Cleaning gets done for free.

I am spoiled a touch. Of course, I pay for this by putting up with all the snide remarks about freeloading and such. So is my life. Sister is jealous. She lived with them in College, and is envious of the situation I find myself in. It�s not all a cakewalk though.

I ended up donating 5 lawn size trashbags of clothing to the youth group. I had to actually go down and drop them off. They were going to put together some items for the rotating homeless shelter and also poor students. The Assistant Youth Coordinator was very happy for my contributions. He has some sort of speech impediment and thus his praise was lispy and strange. I continue to be wary around his boss, as there is still talk of setting the two of us up.

My parting with roommate was both better and different than I expected. He�s turning the room into a Geek Haven, moving his computers in there and setting up some sort of gaming hub. His nerd friends are just as excited, and their talk of protocol�s and TCP/IP strings marred our goodbye. Although I�m sure we�ll see each other still. Who knows though. Roommate friendships are different things than people with shared interests and things in common rather than the location at which they sleep. I will miss him, and that place. The things that worked, the things that didn�t. The cachet of the location. The vibe of living downtown. Proximity to bars. A Starbucks on every corner. I have to drive a quarter mile for a latt� now. But I�ll adapt. To the dogs and the lawns and the old people. To Carmen and not having to pay for room and board. Oh yes, I�ll adapt.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile