Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-05-26

Burning Man. Well, Burnt Man more like it.

Oh dear god but I am tired. Exhausted even. I spent the day in forced leisure and that always takes its toll. I also managed to burn my fair skin despite the many applications of screens. On a plus note, my hair has never been blonder. It needs to be longer though. It goes through phases. It looks good, then it doesn�t, and then it does. It�s very random. I'm really annoyed because it ruins the ultra prep look I had planned for tomorrow. All barrister and old money. Pinstriped Trousers with a white shirt, both Banana Republic, and a vintage Brooks Brothers black vest that used to belong to my dad as part of a three peice suit. A red and peeling nose does not add to the allure.

I accepted my Grandparents offer to move in with them. I don�t know if I mentioned that or not. There was a sublet offer that I can still partake in come August, but we shall see how things are. Anyway, I�ll be moving in with the Greatest Generation, as Brokaw calls them. It was the maid that clinched the deal. Carmen. I should give her a nickname, but seriously, she�s the maid. Call me Un-PC but I doubt she�ll be reading. Anyway, she comes three times a week. I don�t have to do laundry. Or change my linens. Or clean the bathroom. It�s going to be crazy. And I�m not going to be paying rent. What will I be doing with myself?

Shop. I�ll tell you right now. I have no control. Yes, this is an opportunity to save some money. Pay off the credit cards. Increase my 401k contributions even though I have to wait 6 months before they get matched. But it�s also an opportunity to pick up all those summer collections I couldn�t afford before.

I spent the day with Sister and Husband. Dog was along as well. Friends of theirs had a beach campsite that we went up to, taking sandwiches and beers. It was a nice day. I regaled the beautiful people all about the ugly people. I may also have a line on a different job. Networking, who knew that complaining to a bunch of WASPS� about ugly Europeans could get me a job. Someone had brought a lot of cardboard tubing, and they constructed a frame on the beach. Driftwood and the leftover charcoal and duralogs were added. At sundown it was lit. I swear the flames were 20 feet high. It was impressive. Very Burning Man. They died down quickly and the bong started being passed around, signaling that it was time to leave. We trudged up the hill to Husband�s SUV, Dog happily tromping alongside. Lights were pulling into the campsite when we got to the SUV, which turned to brights. It was the Ranger. And he was pissed. He gave us crap about Dog not being on a leash, he ignored our We were just visiting friends which is why we don�t have a permit to camp response to his queries. And no, we didn�t know anything about illegal fires on the beach. We had to return with him, after stowing a very unhappy Dog in the SUV. The people down at the campfire were alerted by the flashlight and the brights so there was no bong activity that we saw. The ranger gave us all a lecture on fire safety and the permit people a ticket. One totally clueless girl asked, How did you catch us? Somewhere, a Nordstrom�s is missing its idiot. It ended well however, with no arrests or anything. The Ranger pretty much broke up the party so a bunch of people walked away with us. There was talk of putting together a pot for the ticket, but I doubt anything will come of it. Traffic was terrible, so many people returning from a long weekend away from the city. Although I didn�t have any trouble on my ride home. I also got to see the pictures taken by the photographer that Sister hired at Easter. They actually came out really good. You get what you pay for in this world. Dog and Husband are very photogenic and seem to be the perfect accessory to Sister�s perfect life. I�m sure I�ll be getting a complete set, perhaps bound in a album at the next get together. She likes to rub it in.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile