Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-03-21

Clear!

I was a bit late for work this morning, which is rapidly becoming a habit. As is wasting company time to update. Go Me! Sticking it to the man.

Last night I had dinner with an old friend. His family and my family used to be neighbors in Tahoe for the winter seasons. Also, my mother and his Stepmother were in College together. We lived in the same area briefly in High School, which is why the relationship endured at all. He is now a sales rep for a technology company and his girlfriend is in investment banking. They have just bought a house. It was a nice evening. I updated him on what Sister and Husband where doing, and we ate Mexican food, drank Margaritas and in general had a very good time. We made promises to keep in touch, and get together for drinks or dinner again, make it a habitual occurrence, us spending time together. Promises that we might not keep, but it�s not important. It�s not that I wouldn�t like to hang out with people that I have a shared experience with, that I have knows since childhood and actually still manage to like. It�s just that I don�t fit into their world. I�m an outsider at this time, with no significant other or home of my own, or even career that I can be proud of. I�m still in the post-collegiate stage of my life, before the real one begins. And so I don�t really fit in. I would no doubt be set up with countless friends of the girlfriends and wives, and that is never a good scene. I always have viewed dating as bringing a fresh perspective to a group. This person that I have selected is someone who I feel enhances all of use with a unique view and a lack of shared experience. One can�t be lazy with details when telling a story. Everyone gets to rehash his or her favorite anecdotes to a person who hasn�t heard it all before. Dating within the group is almost like incest, a M�bius of shared experience that should be uncharted territory as a couple.

We are having a company function this afternoon, they are bringing in a BBQ truck that will be serving us ribs and chicken. I imagine that �slaw� will be figured into the equation. No alcohol, since it�s at work and there are rules against it. One of the sales guys has brought in these labels that resemble soda cans and can be placed over beer. I brought a flask. I prefer not to drink beer from a can. There are still some Red Bulls hanging around from Tuesday, and Bimberly and I have plans to mix them with vodka. The ribs, the �slaw�, and everything else might induce heart attacks giving us time off. I�m just going to make sure the defribulator is charged.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile