Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-03-13

Let the Dog Drive

Yesterday was quite the hectic day. We are expecting the contract people to visit so everyone is meeting with everyone to discuss how best to present ourselves and who needs to be forced out on either remote sites or vacations. We don�t like to keep the dull and the insipid around for such visits. Only bright, attractive, clever people please. I think they once forced a few temps who were dressed well to entertain some clients. We have no shame. I was going to post last night but server issues prevented it. I�m sure I�m not alone in that.

In life related news, I got nothing. Just a dull stretch towards the weekend. Where I have a birthday party. Woo Hoo. I don�t even have the gift purchasing process with which to while away the tedium on, as I got it last week, almost by accident. I was browsing for something completely unrelated and came across it (on the close-out table of all things). It�s a rather tacky lamp with a very intricate wrought iron base and a shade in a deep gold with dangling beads. It was grateful to be purchased (along with the gift receipt to prove I didn�t get it at Marshall�s or even worse, Tuesday Morning) and I was grateful to get it for such a low price. So, I have that party to look forward to. Maybe a movie this weekend. Nothing much.

Sister�s birthday is also coming up. She�s getting a Kate Spade bag; I ordered it from Nordstrom�s on Monday. It�s what I was assigned to get her, and that makes it actually easy. We don�t like surprises or having to return things in my family. And you can never question the taste of others. I like to print and leave my Amazon.com wish list about as my birthday nears. It�s a more subtle approach, but it works. She has this strange game that she plays with her husband, telling him that she does not want anything, not to buy her a gift. Her life is perfect and full and she couldn�t even possibly begin to think of something that she doesn�t already have. She is so blessed. Etc. Friends and family get an itemized list along with maps and parking coupons (when available) but �[Husband] is a gift just of himself�. So, anyway, I think the first year he believed this lie and there was no doubt a scene. And she got a emergency trip to Italy out of the deal. Now of course he still doesn�t get her anything but the Dog always seems to come through with a bauble from Tiffany�s or an exciting weekend in the wine country. The Dog is quite good at picking up on the subtle hints that are just lying about the house concerning my sisters� needs. Animals are so perceptive. So there is always talk of what the dog gave her at the obligatory dinner. �Oh, look what Dog gave me,� she�ll gesture, all the while beaming at husband to let him know that he is just the sweetest thing, and I�ll remark how nice it was and here is my present and receive an Oscar worthy performance of shock and joy along with a hug and a peck on the cheek. Of course, I�ll repeat it all next month when it�s my turn to open up my gift. And the cycle will continue, providing us with an opportunity to express how much we love each other, by hiding it all under this shallow veneer.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile