Vice Monkeys by 

SHAG

Hosted by Diaryland

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-01-29

Manual labor isn't as bad as I thought

Today started off badly, but ended up well. I had developed a bad mood due to last nights misunderstanding. Today also involved a warehouse clean up project that I wasn�t looking forward to. We have a large warehouse that management has declared must be cleaned out, product identified and returned to inventory or written off. Each department takes turn with the identification and processing, providing a team to work in a four hour shift. This morning happened to be mind and I had been assigned, excuse me, I �volunteered� to work with Bimberly. Plane, it seems, has some sort of medical condition that prevents from accomplishing tasks that involve repetitive motions. Which no doubt explains her spinsterhood. Since the job entailed physical labor, the dress code was relaxed to include jeans, sneakers, and t-shirts. Tasteful, of course, went the memo; reminding us like children that there could be no midriff baring tops or slogans and products that violate corporate policies. The memo also reminded us that we were still expected to conduct ourselves professionally. Because the only thing that keeps my civilized behavior in check are those chinos I wear daily. I ended up wearing a gray Gap 1969 t-shirt that had a red silk screened diagram of a 6 speed clutch diagram front and center with a pair an ancient pair of Lucky jeans. The thighs had faded to nearly white and the cuffs and seams were frayed. I wore an equally ancient pair of Kenneth Cole Reaction slip on boots that had a scuff on one of the toes. A black jacket and metal banded watch completed my �dressed down� look. I didn�t shave, keeping my stubble at 6 o�clock. Such care, put into something that shouldn�t matter. Bimberly arrived (30 minutes late) wearing white and pink Puma mules, pink Capri pants, and a white baby doll t-shirt that ended right at the low rise of her pants. Apparently she didn�t get the memo that we would be working in a factory storage area opening dirty boxes and also mentioned that she was 34. We started in, one of the shipping clerks bringing the pallets in by fork lift. A guy from finance was our de-facto leader, assigning people tasks. Bimberly was given the important role of note keeper, jotting down the part numbers and quantities that we called out to her. The sales guys on the team, both wearing like new clothing talked on their cell phones the entire time, but they sprang for lunch so there wasn�t really any bad feelings, except for what the Chinese buffet did to my intestines later on this afternoon. It felt good to do some lowbrow labor for the morning. It was simple, and almost pleasant. We all got into a nice rhythm and started working as a team, something that senior management has been cramming down our throats since I�ve worked here. We were effective, accomplished tasks, and went about it efficiently. Why can�t we work like this in the office, I thought. It�s really the same thing, only without the physical labor. The relaxed camaraderie lasted through the afternoon, and I was able to get a lot done in the afternoon. The time that I normally spend reading the news and the occasional diary while watching the clock creep to 4 o�clock where I rush through everything that I had been procrastinating on so I can leave on time. Bimberly also had a zen like calm about her, and the two of us infected the rest of the office. Quiet productivity was the theme of the day, and I think we all felt a sense of accomplishment for it. I don�t imagine that it will be there tomorrow. Partly because I am a cynical bastard, and partly because we are having an informal �chat� with our CEO, something picked up in a Franklin Covey seminar or something. I imagine that it will go like the celebration of Festivus, with feats of strength and airing of grievances. I�ll be sure to bring the aluminum pole.

Look at us, we're beautiful (0)

previousnextolder

Email Entry, Just for Laughs - 2006-01-25
Stupid Names - 2006-01-03
Something quick - 2005-11-18
Updates from Utah - 2005-09-01
Cha-Cha-Changes - 2005-07-07

Email Notes Guestbook

Profile